Archived: 1960's US History

Comprehensive yet concise, America's Longest War provides a complete and balanced history of the Vietnam War. It is not mainly a military history, but seeks to integrate military, diplomatic, and political factors in order to clarify America's involvement and ultimate failure in Vietnam. While it focuses on the American side of the equation, it provides sufficient consideration of the Vietnamese side to make the events comprehensible.

Examines how and why America went to war in Vietnam, and investigates the question of why men who were said to be the ablest to serve in government in the twentieth century had been the architects of the tragic conflict.

Offers a comprehensive account of the covert paramilitary and espionage campaign the United States executed against North Vietnam from 1964 to 1972.

Short history of how America came to be involved in Vietnam, using newly available sources from American and Vietnamese archives to study how and why the war started and escalated.

Offers a comprehensive account of the covert paramilitary and espionage campaign the United States executed against North Vietnam from 1964 to 1972.

Presents a documented history of the Vietnam War in the years between 1968 and 1975, looking at the changes that occurred in the U.S. approach to the conflict which the author claims resulted in a dramatic improvement in the military, economic, and political life of South Vietnam.

Presents more than one hundred primary source documents on fourteen facets of the Vietnam War, including the development of Vietnamese nationalism, U.S. military strategy, the roles played by each U.S. president from Eisenhower to Nixon, and the war's legacy, along with thirty-three analytical essays.

Contains essays by various scholars in which they examine the key decisions of President Richard Nixon, looking at Nixon's response to environmental concerns, his attempts to end the Vietnam War, his visit to China, and the Watergate scandal that led to his resignation.

Tapping into a wealth of recently declassified archives, Robert Dallek uncovers fascinating details about Nixon and Kissinger's tumultuous personal relationship and brilliantly analyzes their shared roles in monumental historical events.

Presents an investigation of civil liberties during wartime...and examines America's tendency to compromise first amendment rights in the name of national security.

This is the definitive edition of the Pentagon Papers as published by the New York Times in the issues of June 13, 14, and 15, 1971 -interrupted by a temporary restraining order and 15 days of litigation, culminating in the Supreme Court decision of June 30- and concluded in the issues of July 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5. To provide a comprehensive archive for libraries, universities and private citizens, additional background materials have been provided relating to the writing of the Papers, their place in the history of American policy since 1945, and the constitutional issues raised by their publication in the Times.

The story of Daniel Ellsberg, a high-level Pentagon official and Vietnam War strategist, who in 1971 concluded that the war is based on decades of lies and leaked 7,000 pages of top secret documents to The New York Times.

A social history of the protest by United States citizens against the Vietnam War, from the days of the first American involvement in Vietnam in the early 1960s through the 1970s.

Examines the successes, failures and influences of some of the various social movements of the 1960s.

Presents an investigation of civil liberties during wartime...and examines America's tendency to compromise first amendment rights in the name of national security.

An interpretive history of the antiwar movement in the United States throughout the Vietnam era.

Presents parallel accounts of what was happening on October 17-18, 1967 in Vietnam with the Black Lion battalion of the First Infantry Division, on the Madison campus of the University of Wisconsin where students were protesting against Dow Chemical, and in Washington D.C. where pressures were mounting to end the war.

Contains a collection of speeches, letters, poems, and songs that reflect key political events in history including documents on slave revolts of the late eighteenth century, John Brown's last speech, and anti-war protests of the twentieth century.