The use of articles is required for this project, and your teacher expects that you will use scholarly journals as well as newspaper or news magazine sources.
Links to several databases are listed. Many may help you access these periodicals and more.
Quick search boxes to these and other databases are also displayed on the right side of this page.
JStor provides access to a variety of scholarly journals as well as pamphlets.
If you find a particular journal is relevant to your topic you can USE BOOLEAN SEARCHING to look for your topic within that journal. Just follow these steps:
(topic) AND pt:(Journal name) or
(Egypt) AND pt:(world policy journal)
With EBSCO databases, like Academic Search Elite, you can limit search results by publication title which can help narrow your search.
Here are a few journals that might be worth investigating.
Remember, you should NOT PURCHASE any articles, if you cannot access something, please contact Ms. Covintree and we will work to find you access.
Like many search systems, EBSCO has ways to search for items even when there are unknown characters, multiple spellings, or various endings to a word. We call these:
Wildcard and Truncation Symbols
Wildcards are used when a variety of letters could be in place within a word. And it uses two different symbols, the question mark (?) and the hashtag (#).
? wildcard = unknown character
Example: ne?t finds results containing neat, nest, or next
# wildcard = alternate spelling may contain an extra character
Example: colo#r finds results containing color or colour
Truncation is a shortening of a search term and then added an asterisk (*) in order to get results that include various endings of that word
Example: ocean* finds results with the words ocean, oceanic, or oceans
You can also use * to substitute a word within a phrase.
Example: day * died will return results that include the exact phrase day democracy died as well as day JFK died, et cetera.
NOTE: These symbols cannot be used at the beginning of a search and don't include the ? for titles actually ending with a question mark because alternate results will come instead.
Wildcard & Truncation symbols are common shortcuts, but be aware that each symbol does not always work the same way across search sites.
Some databases can be difficult to navigate. The following links lead to tutorials and helpful instructions related to the specific database.
SIRs Researcher provides background and current analysis on over 300 current events and issues. The site includes Topic Overview pages for certain topics as well as collections of articles from reputable sources.
NOTE: Unless you know your specific subject, choosing the "Keyword" option below the search box will provide broader results.
Don't forget to take a look at our PRINT collection of PERIODICALS. While not scholarly, they may help put a situation into perspective and provide useful statistics. Specifically: