Literary Criticism (English 12)

Presents critical essays on Toni Morrison's "Beloved" and includes a chronology, a bibliography, and an introduction by critic Harold Bloom.

Collected interviews with Nobel prize winning author, Toni Morrison, revealing her feelings about her life and work as an African-American woman writer.

Presents nearly thirty reviews and essays on African-American author Toni Morrison's novel "Beloved" by such writers as Margaret Atwood, Rosellen Brown, Stanley Crouch, and Morrison herself, and includes a scholarly introduction.

A critical interpretation of the author's works from "The Blues Eye" to "Beloved."
From the Twayne's United States Authors series.

A collection of criticism of Morrison's novels with essays arranged in the chronological order of their original publication.

Explores how the issue of corruption was portrayed in William Shakespeare's play "Hamlet" and discusses how Shakespeare's views on corruption reflected the social views of his time.

Includes the chapter, "Ghostwriting: Hamlet and Claude Chabrol's Ophilia."

Includes introductory and textual notes, character lists and studies, a synopsis, teaching tools and suggestions, historical background, and biographical information about Shakespeare

Explains how William Shakespeare created human nature and characters and includes analyses of the character development in each of Shakespeare's plays.

Presents a comprehensive analysis of all thirty-eight of William Shakespeare's plays and discusses language, theme, plot, and character as well as Shakespeare's development as a writer of verse and prose.

Critical interpretations of eight Shakespeare plays.

Presents twentieth-century critical essays on William Shakespeare's tragedy "Hamlet" and includes a chronology, a bibliography, and an introduction by critic Harold Bloom.

"Complete and descriptive dramatis personae of the more than 1200 persons who exist in the pages of 19 novels and 94 short stories... of Faulkner's fiction."

Explores the themes of growing up and getting old in literature, and examines the way the experiences of these well-known characters reflect the lives of people today.

A collection of essays, lectures, and personal recollections in which Eudora Welty explores the writings and literary impact of William Faulkner.

Presents biographical information on Faulkner, and examines various analyses of his work for insights into the issues that lie under the surface of the plots of his writings.

Offers critical analyses of the works of authors including William Faulkner, and Toni Morrison.

Contains critical essays on William Faulkner's "The Sound and the Fury," in which the members of a genteel Southern family are portrayed as petty failures, drunkards, suicides, pathological perverts, and idiots.