Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subscription Database Resources
"No value or practice is more central to American civilization than democracy—the rule “of the people, by the people, for the people,” in the words of President Abraham Lincoln."
Viewpoints, statistics, images, video, magazines, news articles, primary sources and more from Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context.
From ProQuest's SIRS Knowledge Source, this resource includes Pro/Con information on issues around the US Elections including Voting Age, Electoral College, Campaign Funds and more.
From ProQuest's SIRS Knowledge Source, this page has gathered information to help consider various sides of the essential question "Will third-party candidates decide the US presidential election?'
From EBSCO's Points of View Reference Center, this article gives basic information on the US political parties. Look to the right for further articles.
The article examines the debate over the effectiveness of the two-party system in U.S., in which the Democratic and Republican parties basically compete for power at the federal, state and local levels of government.
Political Parties: Guide to Critical Analysis
This article, from EBSCO's Point of View Reference Center, offers a critical guide to the controversial issue of the two-party system in U.S. politics. The article discusses criteria in understanding the issue, such as distinguishing between fact and opinion and recognizing point and counterpoint arguments. Also presented are exercises that help the reader further analyze the issue of political parties, such as a debate or a critical essay, for the purpose of developing and effectively arguing a personal perspective.
Presidential Election Process
"The procedure for choosing the president of the United States has changed dramatically since George Washington was elected in January 1789...Since the early 19C, political parties have controlled the presidential election process. Each party nominates a single candidate for president and one for vice president. "
Viewpoints, statistics, images, biographies, audio, journals, videos, primary sources, and more from Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Resources on the Election
Campaign 2016: Road to the White House
Developed by C-SPAN's 2015 Summer Teacher Fellows, provides explanations of the various aspects of the election process for candidates vying to become the next President of the United States. Separated into 10 main areas, each topic is supplemented with related video clips, discussion questions, handouts, and culminating activities to reinforce students' learning.
The Candidates and Their Values: Election 2016
In order to engage in meaningful conversations about the United States today, it is important to examine and analyze the views, proposed policies, and opinions that shape these debates. In this lesson, students will examine their personally held values, explore the platforms of presidential candidates, assess how their own values and beliefs align with those of the candidates, and discuss the potential impact of the upcoming election. From the Choices Program at Brown University.
Election 2016: Our Teaching and Learning Homepage
Since August of 2015, the New York Times Learning Network has been regularly publishing teaching materials to help bring this critically important yet highly unpredictable presidential election into classrooms — and they will continue to build this through November.
Election 2016: Stumped!?
From NewseumED's EDCollection, this resource provides information and interactives on Election Procedures, Campaign Messages, and Public Participation. (middle and high school)
Election Central 2016 Lesson Plans
PBS Education has created tools, resources and creative solutions to educate your students on the various facets of the political process. With content to educate your students on the process and history of elections including campaigning, local impact of national issues, how the Electoral college works, fast facts and an interactive, activity-based map, these tools help turn news coverage into learning opportunities.
iCivics Election Resources collection
A nonprofit founded by Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, iCivics provides interactive tools that help teachers prepare the next generation of engaged citizens. Resources here include basics on elections, voting, and more.