Prescott Library: Spices Research Project (Lytle): Home

These resources may lead you to the perfect source for this project. Feel free to contact Ms. Covintree for additional assistance.

Library Catalog

Library Passwords

The Medieval Spice Trade
East Meets West: The Silk Road
Use the search box to explore more including:
more...less...
This unit in ABC Clio's World History: Ancient & Medieval Era primarily looks at the China on the East, so use the search box to explore more.
Byzantine spices
Food sources in Medieval Europe
Medieval Medicine
Spices in Medieval Europe
Epicenter: Encyclopedia of Spices
more...less...
Information about exotic spices and herbs, the history of the spice trade, culinary uses, recipes and the medicinal properties of spices.
The Food Timeline
more...less...
"Most foods are not invented; they evolve. We make food history fun"
Essays & Images including:
Indian Ocean in World History: Medieval Era
Trade and Commercial Activity in the Byzantine and Early Islamic Middle East
Trade between the Romans and the Empires of Asia
Venice’s Principal Muslim Trading Partners: The Mamluks, the Ottomans, and the Safavids

On Food and Cooking: the science and lore of the kitchen

Taste: The story of Britain through its cooking

These resources will lead you to images of artifacts and primary sources from museums and archives around the world. Feel free to contact Ms. Covintree for additional assistance.

You can find a list of passwords here.

Crossing Boundaries, Building Networks
more...less...
This digital gallery from Chicago's Field Museum explores global networks of trade and exchange during China’s imperial period.
Google Arts & Culture
more...less...
Explore collections from around the world in one location. To download images, look for redirect links to the original museums.
Luxury Arts of the Silk Route Empires
more...less...
Images and information from the Freer Sackler Gallery of the Smithsonian. Use the Search function to find more images.
The Silk Road Exhibition
more...less...
The British Library's Stein collection contains manuscripts and printed documents on paper, as well as textiles, wood, pottery, and other materials from his travels in India, Pakistan, Chinese Central Asia, Iran, Iraq and Jordan, dating from the 1890s to 1938.
The V&A Stein Collection
more...less...
On loan from the Government of India,
this collection includes nearly 600 textile fragments and over 70 ceramic and Buddhist objects. These rare objects, dating between 200 BC and 1200 AD, were recovered at the beginning of the 20th century by British archaeologist, Sir Marc Stein.

These resources may lead you to the perfect source for this project. Feel free to contact Ms. Covintree for additional assistance.

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
For citation help and note-taking resources, click here.

When adding images to slides...

Every image on a slide should have a hyperlinked label below it that includes

a. Title of image (or description)
b. Creator (if given)
c. Artifact’s country of origin
d. Date of work's creation
e. Where artifact is housed
f. Link to website where image was found (not the image URL, but where you got the image from)

Contact Ms. Covintree for additional assistance.